In his latest album, Grainy Days, Jon Waterman showcases 13 of his lyrically compelling original songs that reveal an exciting and eclectic mix of classic rock and roots. The styles in the collection range from the driving, electric blues-folk rock of "Walk As If You Won" and the Americana influenced "Thing For My Guitar" to the reggae inspired "Born That Way." Lyrically the songs range from seemingly simple pop song sentiments about love and need to songs that make subtle and not-so-subtle statements about social justice and the human experience. Several of the songs tell true stories- a child actor in the title track and a Tin Pan Alley songwriter in "Hughie Cannon's Blues." Others are stories which could be true- like "Mean Ol' Debil Jones" which tells a fictional tale of racial prejudice and injustice. Grainy Days is available through CD Baby and Bandcamp, or it could be ordered direct from this site by going to the Paypal Buy Now link under the thumbnail.


1. Walk As If You Won
2. Mean Ol Debil Jones
3. Born That Way
4. Hughie Cannon's Blues
5. Belinda
6. Shouldn't Lovers Have Islands of Their Own
7. Everybody's All Right
8. Tourettes Tommy
9. Learn How to Love
10. Thought It Was Love
11. Thing for My Guitar
12. Midnight Sun
13. In Grainy Days of Black and White

Produced by Jon Waterman and Sean Yadisernia. Engineered by Sean Yadisernia and Andy Gerard.
Musicians: Jon Waterman- Vocals and Guitars, Eric Brown- Drums, Steve Toutant- Bass, Andy Gerard- Bass
Derek Dupuis- Keyboards, Sean Yadisernia- Guitars, Keyboards, and Drums, Kirsten Manville- Backing Vocals
Lisa Haley-Backing Vocals, Dickie Kraus- Backing Vocal, Caden LaFortune- Backing Vocal, Rory Walsh- Drums
Chris Decato-Keyboards, John Devine- Harmonica, Brian Harvey- Bass, Jim Schunemann- Percussion
Bill Fennell- Vocal and Cover Art and Design

2013 CD: The Disaster Song Project